Funding eligibility tool

Use this tool to find out if you're eligible to apply for Heritage EQUIP funding. Select the statements that apply to you.

This tool requires javascript. Please turn on javascript in your browser or visit Criteria for funding

My building is earthquake-prone

Your building must be considered earthquake-prone – as determined by your council (under the Building Act) or a chartered professional engineer.

My building is privately owned

Your building must be privately owned (e.g. by an individual(s), company or private trust). We can’t fund public entities or charitable organisations like churches and incorporated societies (other funding sources are available to these groups). Applicants must be the owner or part-owner of the heritage building, or give evidence that they have the authority to submit the application on the owner’s behalf.

My building has heritage value

Your building must be on the New Zealand Heritage List as either Category 1, or Category 2 in a medium or high seismic risk area. Other heritage categories, for example buildings scheduled on a district plan, will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

I want to seismically strengthen my building, or part of my building, so it is no longer considered earthquake-prone

Your project must seismically strengthen the earthquake resistant capacity of your building, or part of your building, so that it is no longer considered earthquake-prone. That means it must reach at least 34% of the New Building Standard (NBS).

You meet the criteria

Based on the information you have provided, you are eligible to apply for Heritage EQUIP funding. Apply now, or contact the Heritage EQUIP team to discuss your project

Your building doesn’t meet the criteria for Heritage EQUIP

Based on the information you have provided, you wouldn’t be eligible to apply for Heritage EQUIP funding.

Heritage EQUIP focuses on funding privately owned, earthquake-prone buildings that have heritage value.

You may qualify for other funding.

You may qualify for other funding options, such as the Regional Culture and Heritage Fund, the National Heritage Preservation Incentive Fund, local council grants and incentives or lottery grants.

Find out more about these funds

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. You are eligible